## **BUSINESS AND FINANCE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE**

Notes of an inquorate meeting of the Business and Finance Scrutiny
Committee held on Thursday 26 January 2023 at 6.00 pm in The Telford
Room, Addenbrooke House, Ironmasters Way, Telford, TF3 4NT

**Present:** Councillors S J Reynolds (Chair) and G C W Latham-

Reynolds.

Co-optee: R Williams

Also Present: Councillor R C Evans (Cabinet Member for Finance,

Governance and Customer Services)

**In Attendance:** M Brockway (Interim Finance Manager),

K Clarke (Director: Finance & Human Resources),

A Lowe (Director: Policy & Governance).

D Sidaway (Chief Executive), and

S Yarnall (Democracy Officer (Scrutiny))

Apologies: Councillors E J Carter, J E Lavery, I Preece and

Lord Sahota

BFSC5 <u>Declarations of Interest</u>

None.

## BFSC6 Minutes of the Previous Meeting

As a result of advice being given regarding quoracy of the meeting, the minutes of the meeting held on 9 January 2023 were to be confirmed at the next meeting of the Committee. Those present agreed that they were an accurate record of the meeting held on 9 January 2023.

## BFSC7 Medium Term Financial Strategy 2023/24 - 2026/27

The Chief Financial Officer opened the discussion, providing a brief overview of the key points from the previous meeting.

Following advice being given regarding quoracy of the meeting, a general discussion took place regarding some aspects of the budget with those present seeking additional information regarding the viability of NuPlace, the progress on job evaluation and the budgetary impacts arising out of that exercise.

The Chief Financial Officer and Director: Policy & Governance provided additional information on these aspects of the budget.

Following the discussion, Members agreed in principle to support the Medium Term Financial Strategy 2023/24 – 2026/27. However, a final decision had to be made by a majority of the Committee – It was proposed that in view of timescales, email consultation would be considered.

## BFSC8 Chair's Update

The meeting ended at 6.29 pm

Chairman:		
Date:	Tuesday 20 June 2023	